CFD Coin Award

Back in WWI, a young American pilot was given a bronze medallion that bore the squadron’s insignia by his squadron leader as a memento of their service together.  Shortly after acquiring the medallion, the pilots’ aircraft was severely damaged by ground fire. He was forced to land behind enemy lines and was immediately captured by a German patrol. In order to discourage his escape, the Germans took all of his personal identification except for the small leather pouch around his neck that contained the coin.  He escaped captivity that night during a bombing raid, and found his way into French territory.  The French did not recognize his accent and thinking that he was an enemy spy, they were ready to execute him.  His only identification was the coin.  When he showed it to them they confirmed his identity, and instead of shooting him, they gave him a bottle of wine.  After this, it became tradition to ensure that all service members carried their medallion or coin at all times.  Coin check challenges are often set up between comrades to prove membership to an organization when challenged and to enhance morale.
For Cromwell Fire Dept. it extends our recognition of our core values: Teamwork, Respect, Trust and Pride and each year we honor selected individuals with Excellence in Performance. The coin thus far, for those who have received it, have regarded it a symbol of brotherhood and camaraderie.

Coin Award Criteria:
1.  Must be members in good standing for five or more years at CFD.
2.  Uphold the mission of the Cromwell Fire Department of protecting the town of
     Cromwell and the surrounding area when called upon for mutual aid with the highest
      level of competency, courtesy and professionalism.
3.  Consistently demonstrate and project the four core values of the department: 
     Teamwork, Respect, Trust and Pride.
4.  Contribute to the department above and beyond required expectations that include
      “behind the scenes” activities to better the department for it’s members.
5.  Coins are not to be given to any non-member of the department.


2008, Inaugural Award Recipients

Jim Jones
Donald Swanson
Tammy Perron
Robert McIntyre
Douglas Logan 
Melissa Roming
Heather Deming
Neal Perron
James Fraser

2009 Award Recipients

Elaine Jones
Bill Clare
David Colligan
Victor Rollka
Richard Gish

2010 Award Recipients

Fred Curtin
Mark Langton
Craig Murphy
Buddy Spada 
Chief Quick
Chief Bellamo

2011 Award Recipients

Chief Stephen Pendl
Active Reserve Kenneth Going
Lieutenant DJ Zordan
Captain Jeremy Reneson
Lieutenant Kevin Janicke
Life Member Russel Brainard

2012 Award Recipients

Life Member Al Barrieau
Former Deputy Chief Russ Johnson
Pam Lewis
Auxiliary Lieutenant Stacey Rollka
EMS Lieutenant Ken Mucker
Former EMS Lieutenant Jenn Barbieri    

2013 Award Recipients

Past Chief Frank "Butch" Seidl
Lieutenant Jennifer Anderson
Robert Donahue
Rashad Baaquie
Kristina Gish

2014 Award Recipients

Lieutenant Jason Brade
Commissioner Julius Neto
Deputy Chief Michael Salonia
Lieutentant Eric Roberts
Life Member Nick Tomassone
Life Member Ryan Colligan    

2015 Award Recipients