2004 CFD Awards Banquet

The Courtyard by Marriot put on a delicious buffet for the assembled members and guests. The Auxiliary donated Flouring Cookie Fire Truck Bouquets to be raffled of on all the tables. Bartolotta's Florist provided complimentary corsages for the ladies, and DJ Bill Duncan once again provided the evening's music. Banquet Coordinators Dick Loza and Doug Logan and their committee planned an enjoyable and memorable celebration.

Past Chief and current Fire District Commissioner Don Swanson offered a moving prayer of thanks for firefighters and EMS providers in Cromwell and around the world.

This year's awards were presented as follows:

Member of the Year                        

  • Elaine Jones

Lifetime Achievement Award  

  • Edward F. Deming

10 Years of Service    

  • Jeremy Reneson
  • Victor Rollka
  • Ben Stostrom

5 Years of Service    

  • David Boyce
  • Irene Childs
  • Donna Cote
  • Joseph Goodrigh
  • Robert Johnson, Sr.

Cromwell Fire Department EMS Responder of the Year 2003 

This award is presented to Eric Bennett for his excellence in service and dedication to the Cromwell Fire Department and most of all the entire well being of the Town of Cromwell.  Thank you and congratulations for receiving this recognition.

Cromwell Fire Department Club 500

EMS personnel who have logged more than 500 hours of service to the community.  Thank you and Congratulations

1388 hours    

  • Eric Bennett

1157 hours    

  • Mike Ranieri


  • Sarah Chaffee


  • Shon Hatcher

500+ hours    

  • Ed Clapp
  • Craig Murphy
  • Bill Clare

400+ hours    

  • Donna Cote

300+ hours    

  • Gabrielle Rollf
  • Dot Meerbach
  • Pam Harris
  • Irene Childs
  • David Boyce

Cromwell Fire Department top 6 EMS Responders


  • Eric Bennett


  • Mike Ranieri


  • Shon Hatcher


  • Ed Clapp


  • Sarah Chaffee


  • Bob Johnson

Certificate of Excellence for Teamwork

The Certificate of Excellence for Teamwork represents the best example of teamwork among members of the response team which leads to great benefit for the patient.  When fire/rescue, EMS, advanced life support, and the trauma system work well together, lives are saved.
The 2003 Certificate of Excellence for Teamwork was a working structure fire was reported at 2 Prospect Hill Rd. on May 2, 2003 at 23:00.  This was an old historic home that had recently been restored.  The family was inside the house and awoke to flames and smoke.  The mother and father went upstairs to get their daughter out, when they all became trapped by flames blocking the stairwell.  They proceeded to climb out a window onto a porch roof, then down a ladder that a good Samaritan had placed for them.  The two female family members incurred injuries and smoke inhalation, both needing hospitalization.  The house was a total loss, with the family escaping with only their nightclothes.  Mutual aid was received on the scene from Rocky Hill and Westfield; standing by in our stations at from Middletown and East Berlin.

46 Cromwell Fire Department Personnel on scene included:

 Personnel on the scene included:

Ken Allen
Sean Angus
Jim Bellamo
Eric Bennett
Paul Bennett
Sarah Chaffee
Irene Childs
Bill Clare
Dave Colligan
Rick Dryburgh
Jim Frazer
Todd Gagnon
Joe Goodrich
Brett Hallden
Pam Harris
Shon Hatcher

Mike Jacobs
David Jahn
Bob Johnson
Elaine Jones
Jim Jones
Jason Landry
Mark Langton
Chris Logan
Doug Logan
Bill McKnight
Dot Meerbach
Craig Murphy
Peter Omicioli
Steve Pendl
Steve Phillips
Don Quick

Mike Ranieri
Nancy Rebstock
Jeremy Reneson
Robert Rich
Melissa Roming
Frank Seidl
Don Swanson
Robert Walker
Laura Weaver
Rob Zajac
Doug Zordan
Lee Martin
Chris Bellamo
Russ Quick

We would also like to thank the Auxiliary for their assistance and refreshments both at the scene and behind the scene:

Bob Barone
Debbie Clare
Charity Coelho
Lionel Jones

Nicole Phillips
Kim Reneson
Kim Zordan


Our community thanks you for your dedication!