2012 CFD Awards Banquet

The Court Yard Marriot put on a delicious buffet for the assembled members and guests.  Bartolotta's Florist provided complimentary corsages for the ladies.

Past Chief and current Fire District Commissioner Don Swanson offered a moving prayer of thanks for firefighters and EMS providers both present and deceased in Cromwell and around the world.

2011 was an unprecedented year in which we responded to a total of 2883 calls.  EMS only responded to 2019 calls, fire only responded to 512 calls, and everyone responded to 352 calls.  There were 316 times that both ambulances were staffed and responding; 30 times when all three ambulances were staffed and responded.  We provided mutual aid to Hunter’s 27 times

Weather Challenges this year:  unprecedented snow started our year, followed by extreme ice, Flash flooding, a hurricane, several close calls for tornados, a  pre-season Nor-Easter Snowstorm that resulted in power outage for days.

 911- Anniversary, saluting all emergency service workers for their tireless actions day in and day out.

Thank you to: Auxiliary, Fire Police, Explorers, Fire, EMS, and Life Members

Special Guests
Mark and Patty Fitchandler of “Pattycakes” for their continued support of the Cromwell Fire Department
Ed and Ann Bartolotta - Bartolotta Florist - for the flowers

This year's awards were presented as follows:

Member of the Year

  • Michael Salonia

Challenge Coin Award    

  • Stephen Pendl
  • Kenneth Going
  • DJ Zordan
  • Jeremy Reneson
  • Kevin Janicke
  • Russel Brainard

35 Years of Service    

  • David Colligan

30 Years of Service    

  • James Bellamo

20 Years of Service    

  • Robert Barone

15 Years of Service    

  • Kevin Janicke
  • Sean Angus

10 Years of Service    

  • Robert Rich
  • Linda Walker

5 Years of Service  

  • Fred Curtin
  • Gorman Gagnon

Honorees for the evening

Each year at this banquet, we make note of a significant call that touched members of our department during the previous year. This year there were one call that we all dread to hear, but with the best possible outcome. The last award of this evening is our special “CPR save” award:

CPR –save at New England Athletic Club on November 9, 2011, 11:40 a.m.

I would like to award the special “CPR Save” pins to:

  • Edward Urbansky    
  • Michael Zadrick
  • William Gregorio    
  • Patricia Hallden
  • PD Officer Dave Ellison    
  • PD Officer Robert Haughton
  • PD Officer Matthew McCarter    
  • Kelsey Richey-NEAC
  • Janice Flanigan-NEAC     

Our community thanks you for your dedication!